1 min read

With Hayao Miyazaki now retired, it looks like Japan’s greatest animated artist’s filmography will be capped at 11 feature films. While that’s a sobering thought, those 11 films are brilliant, one and all, and any fan of Japanese art and culture should watch them all.

That filmography, for the record, is:

– Lupin III: The Castle of Cagliostro (1979)
– Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind (1984)
– Laputa: Castle in the Sky (1986)
– My Neighbor Totoro (1988)
– Kiki’s Delivery Service (1989)
– Porco Rosso (1992)
– Princess Mononoke (1997)
– Spirited Away (2001)
– Howl’s Moving Castle (2004)
– Ponyo (2008)
– The Wind Rises (2013)

Impressive legacy, no? To make catching up on all those films easier, Madman Entertainment in Australia has put together a special boxed set with all 11 films.

The boxed set is a limited edition, and comes with bonus postcards and a 32-page booklet. More importantly, it also comes with a bonus disc that includes rare footage, such as Miyazaki’s early works (with English translations for the first time), as well as his retirement press conference, which has been subtitled into English.

Related reading: The Art of Princess Mononoke is a book that Studio Ghibli fans will also love.

That bonus disc will make the collection a must-have for Ghibli fans, even if thet already own individual films within it. The box set is available for preorder from Madman’s website now.

– Matt S. 
Find me on Twitter: @digitallydownld

This is the bio under which all legacy DigitallyDownloaded.net articles are published (as in the 12,000-odd, before we moved to the new Website and platform). This is not a member of the DDNet Team. Please see the article's text for byline attribution.

Previous Story

Danganronpa 3 is happening… but not for a while yet

Next Story

Review: Helldivers (Sony PlayStation 4)

Latest Articles