Voice of Cards trilogy now available for PC, consoles

There's also a bundle that includes DLC.

3 mins read
The key art for the Voice of Cards trilogy. It features the logo and three cards, one representing each title.

When I write about Yoko Taro, it’s generally centred around the NieR games. Considering DDNet’s editor-in-chief, Matt, considers the second game (NieR:Automata) to be the greatest game ever made, how could I not make that connection at every opportunity? This may be news to some, but Yoko Taro has also made a trilogy of card games, the Voice of Cards. The games have been available individually before, but now players also have the chance to purchase all three as a bundle, or the bundle plus DLC.

The trilogy bundle contains Voice of Cards: The Isle Dragon Roars, Voice of Cards: The Forsaken Maiden, and Voice of Cards: The Beasts of Burden. (Click those links for reviews of each game!) The Trilogy + DLC bundles includes all three games and their DLC, which are all related to NieR, no surprise there. It’s worth mentioning that the titles are also now available (individually) for mobile devices. All games are card-based RPGs, mimicking the style of tabletop RPGs.

Voice of Cards: The Isle Dragon Roads has players venturing through a story set long ago, in a world of swords and sorcery. The narrative voice even has a name: the Game Master. The protagonist sets off to defeat the recently-awakened dragon, trying to earn an immense reward. The DLC for this game includes a special bundle set themed after NieR Replicant ver.1.22474487139…

Voice of Cards: The Forsaken Maiden is set on a remote chain of island that have relied on the protection of the Maidens for generations. Follow the protagonist as they try to save the people of the island as they face the thread of destruction. The DLC for this game includes a NieR:Automata-themed bundle set.

Voice of Cards: The Beasts of Burden allows players to use the monsters they defeat as skills in battles. Follow a tale set in a world where a thousand years of hatred rages between monsters and humans, where a little girl loses her home and swears revenge on the monsters. She sets off with a mysterious boy. The DLC for this game includes items styled after NieR Re[in]carnation.

Developed and published by Square Enix, the Voice of Cards trilogy is now available for PC via Steam, PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch. The Voice of Cards + DLC bundle is available on those three platforms. The three games are also now available individually for Android and iOS devices.


Lindsay picked up an NES controller for the first time at the age of 6 and instantly fell in love. She began reviewing GBA games 20 years ago and quickly branched out from her Nintendo comfort zone. She has has developed a great love of life sims and FMV titles. For her, accessibility is one of the most important parts of any game (but she also really appreciates good UI).

Previous Story

Review: Anno 1800 (Sony PlayStation 5)

Next Story

Little Friends: Puppy Island launching later this year

Latest Articles