The catch-up coffee: Thursday, January 27, 2022

7 mins read

Welcome to Digitally Downloaded’s regular catch-up news feature. With each issue we will bring you the best news that you may have missed. Grab the biggest mug you’ve got, fill it with your favourite brew, and catch up with us (and our favourite news anchor, Dee Dee)!

Here’s how the Life is Strange Remastered Collection compares to the originals

Square Enix has created a five-minute video showing off the Life is Strange Remastered Collection, which is due out very soon. The original game launched in 2015, with the prequel (Before the Storm) launching in 2017, so it’s not surprise that there have been some technical evolutions. The Remastered Collection renders in native 4K, with 4K-ready character models. Character models are more expressive, with more natural hair physics; Max’s expressions and tears are specially revamped. Settings have more reflectivity and texture. But this all means nothing unless you see it, so take a look:

Life is Strange is honestly a really special experience that I’d recommend to anyone, whether they usually play games or not. Max has returned to her hometown to attend high school, but of course it’s not that simple. She learns she has the ability to turn back time, and she is the only one who can save her best friend Chloe and the entire town. Life is Strange: Before the Storm is a prequel that focuses on Chloe’s experiences while Max is away. We learn more about her friendship with Rachel Amber, and what it was like for her father to die.

Developed by Dontnod and Deck Nine, and published by Square Enix, The Life is Strange Remastered Collection will be released for PC via Steam, PlayStation 4, Stadia, and Xbox One on February 1. The PS4 and XB1 versions are compatible with PS5 and Xbox Series. A Nintendo Switch version will launch at a later date, as announced last week. It is available on its own or as part of the Life is Strange: True Colors Ultimate Edition.

Please, Touch the Artwork is available now

If you’ve ever visited an art gallery or museum, you know there’s one major rule: do not touch the art. Of course there are exceptions, but generally that’s the rule. Please, Touch the Artwork breaks that rule by encouraging the player to touch Mondrian-inspired works. Here is the launch trailer:

The game features three different types of puzzles. Compositions with Red Blue Yellow, and the player has to add lines and colours to a canvas to recreate a specific painting. Broadway Boogie Woogie is about two squares who just want to be together, but the busy world is making that difficult; players will have to help Woogie get to Boogie by working around obstacles. New York City is about maneuvering through the craziness of the city while collecting letters to recreate a poem. It’s worth mentioning that there is a colourblind mode.

Please, Touch the Artwork is Studio Waterzooi’s first release; the studio is comprised of a single person, Thomas Waterzooi. The game is available now for PC via Steam/ and mobile devices via the Apple App Store and Google Play.

A Memoir Blue has been delayed for a month and a half

Interactive poem A Memoir Blue was set to launch on February 10, but has now been delayed to late March. I’m quite sad about this delay, as the game seems haunting. Visually, the game combines hand-drawn art with 3D art to bring Miriam’s magical journey to life. There are actually no words in the game; the story is told via gameplay vignettes. Here’s the new release date trailer:

The story is about a superstar athlete daughter and her loving mother. Sacrifice blends with heartbreak, and victory with pride, as Miriam reconnects with her inner child and deepens the love she has for her mother. Play unexpected puzzles in fantastic environments, all in a dreamlike world. The publisher describes it as a “visual feats of light, colour, and movement.”

Developed by Cloisters Interactive and developed by Annapurna Interactive, A Memoir Blue will be released on iOS, PC via Steam, PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch, Xbox Series, and Xbox One on March 24.

Here is the battle information for Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin

The launch date for Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin is coming up quickly, and the developer and publisher has released a video detailing the basics of battle. The game is a prequel to all Final Fantasy games, as Jack, Jed, Ash, Neon, and Sophia are tasked with destroying world-consuming darkness and bring peace back to the kingdom. Here’s The Basics of Battle trailer:

The monsters players will encounter are pretty tough (I mean, depending on difficulty settings). Depleting an enemy’s break gauge and using soul burn will stop them dead, turn them to crystal, and cause them to shatter. Command abilities help the player stall the monster so they have time for another attack. Defence-wise, the soul shield steals enemy spells and allows the character to use them. Job-wise, Jack will start as a Swordsman, wielding the really big Greatsword. Other jobs are opened up by gaining experience. Jobs are easy to change, even in the middle of battle. Each job has its own command and combo abilities. There is also a job tree to unlock new abilities, buffs, and advanced jobs.

Developed by Team NINJA and published by Square Enix, Strange of Paradise: Final Fantasy Original will be released for PC via Epic, PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, Xbox Series, and Xbox One on March 18.

This is the bio under which all legacy articles are published (as in the 12,000-odd, before we moved to the new Website and platform). This is not a member of the DDNet Team. Please see the article's text for byline attribution.

Previous Story

Koei Tecmo and Gust release new trailer, details for Atelier Sophie 2: The Alchemist of the Mysterious Dream

Next Story

Review: Hatsune Miku Connecting Puzzle Tamagotori (Nintendo Switch)

Latest Articles