Latest News

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Jane Jensen Kickstarts Moebius

Remember those Gabriel Knight adventure games from back in the day? Well they're back. In Moebius form.

Just in case you're out of the loop, Jane Jensen (creator of the Gabriel series among others) has just started up a brand new studio called Pinkerton Road. As is becoming a hot trend as of late, she's also started up a Kickstarter campaign to get things moving an start development of the company's first offering- Moebius.

The interesting thing about Moebius is that, while it isn't an official Gabriel Knight adventure- it's the series' successor in every way:

Moebius is a metaphysical sci-fi thriller in the vein of Fringe, Jane’s novel Dante’s Equation, and (of course!) Gabriel Knight. Antiquities dealer Malachi Rector hunts down artifacts all over the world and compiles dossiers on their history. He has a knack for sensing “the soul” of an object. After his upscale Manhattan store is destroyed in a fire, Rector is hired by millionaire Amber Dexter to investigate a series of events and document them in his meticulous way.
 The first event is the death of a young woman in Venice, who was found hanging from a bridge. As Rector investigates her life, he soon realizes that this beautiful and talented young woman -- and the interrupted path of her life -- had great hidden significance. It appears that Amber Dexter and his associates are playing with the fabric of life in a way Rector never imagined possible. Even he, Rector himself, is part of a larger pattern. Malachi Rector must figure out who is doing what -- and whether their intentions are for good or ill -- before he can decide whether to play his pre-scripted role or try to change the outcome. 
They pretty much had me at 'Fringe', but anyway- the only real way to make sure this fine title get published (and playable) is to become a backer on its Kickstarter site. If you do, you won't just get bragging rights because you'll also be on the receiving end of some cool digital swag. Loads of said swag... depending on your level of donation.

How does behind the scenes involvement, downloadable and physical copies of Pinkerton produced titles, visits to the studio, and design bibles straight out of the Gabriel Knight files sound? There will be even more goodies coming for backers, but they're still under wraps at present.

Now, in order for all this to come to pass, the company needs to reach a goal of $300k USD. They're more than halfway there already, but there are no assurances till they reach that magic number. Want to donate and be a part of the graphic adventure resurgence and Jensen's return to the gaming world? Click here.
Jane Jensen Kickstarts Moebius
  • Blogger Comments
  • Facebook Comments
Top